Tamed by You (Laurel Heights, 7) by Kate Perry

Image source: Goodreads

First rule of matchmaking: Don’t fall in love with your client.

Second rule of matchmaking: Don’t fall in love with your client!

Valentine Jones has never been good at following rules, especially the one that matters most: following the family tradition of being a matchmaker. She’s tried, but she happens to suck at it. So when her mother swoops in to help, Valentine is determined to prove she doesn’t need a babysitter.

Enter Ethan “The Predator” Hunter, ex-fighter and all-around hunk. Career on hold because of injury, his sole focus is to get back in the ring. He has no interest in the people until Valentine sets her matchmaking sights on him. Suddenly Ethan’s world is filled with nonstop commotion and lessons on attracting women. Only Ethan doesn’t want a random woman. He wants his matchmaker rules be damned.


THOUGHTS

The books in the Laurel Heights series can be read separately.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I enjoyed this book; it was an easy read. I appreciated the lack of unnecessary drama and angst, and I loved that the conflicts weren’t heavy. Although there were two stories, as with all Laurel Heights books, I found them equally enjoyable. I really liked how things were resolved for both couples.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

The main issue I had with this book was how ridiculous the matchmaker tradition in Valentine’s family was. That the firstborn female in the family was expected (destined) to be a matchmaker felt too unrealistic for me.

I also disliked a few characters. Valentine’s mother was annoyingly overbearing, and I constantly wondered how her daughters put up with her. And Sophie, the heroine of the secondary story, was selfish and immature. But I recognize that these character flaws were necessary for the plot, so they became acceptable to me.

Overall, there was nothing remarkable about this book. It was entertaining but easily forgettable.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Tamed by You is a sweet romance that is a touch unrealistic. I recommend it to lovers of light romance who are willing to suspend disbelief for the sake of a good story.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

