Clean Romance · Young Adult

The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

Image source: Goodreads

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning…. Welcome to forever. 

Brie’s life ends at sixteen: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn’t love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally. 

But now that she’s D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there’s Patrick, Brie’s mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after. 

With Patrick’s help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she’s ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I honestly found this book a bit depressing at first because of the nature of the plot, but that feeling gradually eased as the story progressed. I also thought this book had the same feel as If I Stay, which I hated, but I’m happy to say that this one turned out to be loads better.

Plot-wise, this novel was entertaining. Some events were predictable, but the dialogue was fresh. I finished reading the whole thing in one sitting and it never got boring.

I loved how the author managed to create relatable characters. I didn’t like Brie, but I understood where she was coming from. I also liked the changes in the characters as a result of their experiences. Brie acted like a spoiled brat in the beginning and had hurt a lot of people, but she eventually matured and realized the consequences of her actions.

The best thing about this book was the fact that it actually left you with something after reading. I enjoyed this book not because of its remarkable plot but because of the life lessons it imparted.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I thought that the title, though catchy, was a little misleading because it implied that the main focus of the story was the romance. This book was so much more than that though; it was also a story of acceptance, forgiveness, and moving on—things most people struggle with in real life. And the title fails to account for that.

Another thing I disliked was the author’s writing style, and I noticed this as soon as I started reading. The narration was so awkward. The book was written in the point of view of a fifteen-year-old, but the writing felt unnaturally childish. It felt like the author was trying too hard to make it sound that way.

There were also a lot of overly wordy descriptions, but they gradually became less noticeable as I read. I don’t know if it was because of the improvement in her writing style or if I just got sucked into the story.

I also didn’t enjoy the romantic aspect of this book. Most of the plot twists were predictable, so they lost their supposed effect.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

The Catastrophic History of You and Me is an insightful read. I recommend it to those who love stories that leave an impact.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

