His Secretary: Undone (A Novel Deception, 1) by Melanie Marchande

Image source: Goodreads

I’m about to throw an ashtray at my boss’s head.

Turns out, the mind behind my favorite, steamy romance novels…the ones I only read in private…the ones that are my only escape after a long day of dealing with The Boss From Hell? It’s not Natalie McBride, the sweet, rural housewife.

It’s him.

That’s right: my boss, Adrian Risinger, the thirty-three-year-old, maddeningly sexy, pissant billionaire “bad boy” who thinks he runs my life. He is also the author of all my deepest, most secret fantasies. And to make matters worse, he needs me to impersonate “Natalie” at a series of book signings and conventions. But, of course, that’s only if I want to keep my job. 

On second thought, I’m going to need something heavier than an ashtray.


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I mostly enjoyed this book, especially the chemistry and initial relationship between Adrian and Meghan. I loved how Meghan seemed to be the only one who knew how to deal with Adrian and how she was responsible for smoothing things over between the big bad boss and the other employees.

The premise for this book was really fun, and it was well executed. The pacing was good and the conversations were entertaining. There was never any dull moment.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I would have loved this book if Adrian hadn’t made an asshole move. Everything up until the conflict was wonderful, and this book would have been one of my favorites. Sadly, what happened made me so mad; I’m just not sure if I’m mad at the author or at Adrian. I was happy with how Meghan reacted to the situation though.

I did miss Adrian’s bad ass side. After the two started hooking up, I felt that he lost that part of him. Too bad, because I wanted to see some semblance of the evil boss in him.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

His Secretary: Undone is an entertaining read for those who enjoy stories involving office romance.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

