Here with You (Laurel Heights, 8) by Kate Perry

Image source: Goodreads

Nicole James knew it was not better to have love and lost.

She never expected that love to swagger back into her life. Sure, she pined after Griffin Chase all through childhood, but that was a lifetime ago. Now she sells romantic dreams in a small lingerie shop, and he lives big dreams as a world-famous rockstar. What could he possibly want from her?

Grif’s only passion had always been music, but the thrill is gone. The last time chords and lyrics came easy was when he created them for Nicole. He needs his best friend to help him rediscover a love for music.


THOUGHTS

The books in the Laurel Heights series can be read separately.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I usually enjoy Laurel Heights books because they’re light, romantic, and fun. Sadly, I didn’t get that vibe from this book. The only thing I liked was the characters even though I couldn’t entirely relate to them.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

This book was different from the other Laurel Heights books. I felt like there was too much angst, especially in Rachel’s story. It was a tad too dramatic for me, and I miss the light tone present in the other books.

I honestly felt detached while reading Nicole and Griffin’s story. It didn’t matter to me whether or not those two got together. I actually cared more about Rachel’s story, which made me tear up a few times. I didn’t have any feelings of satisfaction after having finished the book. It just ended. Everyone was happy, but I didn’t feel anything.

VERDICT

🌷🌷

Here with You is a dissatisfying read. I don’t recommend it, but I do recommend Dream of You, my favorite book in the Laurel Heights series.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

