Teaching the Boss (Billionaires in the City, 1) by Mallory Crowe

Image source: Goodreads

Business-school student April Morgan is ready to graduate–from school, from the secretary pool, and from never-gonna-happen fantasies involving Sam Hunt, her hunky billionaire boss. But when Sam’s girlfriend of the week pushes her too far, April finds herself quitting on the spot with only a mountain of student loan debt to keep her company. In steps Sam’s worst enemy, his father, with a job offer she can’t refuse. 

Sam was born into privilege, but refused to live life with a silver spoon in his mouth. After a decade of hard work, he’s on the verge of taking his business public and proving to his tyrannical family that he can make it without their help. When he finds out that April is working for his father, he knows she’s been turned into a pawn in his father’s twisted games. 

Despite Sam’s warnings, April is determined to prove she doesn’t need him to make in New York City. But when she finds documents that could lead to Sam losing everything he’s worked for, April realizes that she and Sam have to work together to save the empire they’ve both worked to build. 


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

This was a cute story altogether. I enjoyed reading about April’s dilemma of being torn between working for Sam and Donald.

I liked April very much. She was a fairly strong heroine, and she knew how to stand up for herself. I loved that she didn’t let Sam or anyone else take advantage of her. I actually liked Donald too despite his evil role.

I also enjoyed seeing the development in the relationship between Sam and Donald. The rivalry between father and son was actually a good example of how miscommunication, or the lack of communication, could be detrimental to a relationship.

I loved how everything was resolved in the end. This book was nicely wrapped and left me feeling happy upon reaching its conclusion.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I didn’t like Sam very much because he seemed gullible for someone in a position of power. He was so easily influenced first by Oksana (his sort-of ex) and then by Simon (his consultant). Simon was another annoying character; I didn’t like his attitude in general.

I also didn’t see much chemistry between April and Sam. I felt like I only wanted to see them together because that was where the story was leading to.

I’m not exactly jumping at the chance to read the bext book because it’s Simon’s story, so I’m going to give this series a break for the time being.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Teaching the Boss is a short romance with a sweet ending. Fans of billionaire romance will enjoy this.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

