Clean Romance · Vampire Romance

The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride (Nocturne Falls, 1) by Kristen Painter

Image source: Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it’s all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.

After seeing her maybe-mobster boss murder a guy, Delaney James assumes a new identity and pretends to be a mail order bride. What she doesn’t know is her groom to be is a 400-year-old vampire.

Hugh Ellingham has only agreed to the set up to make his overbearing grandmother happy. His past means love is no longer an option. Except he never counted on Delaney and falling in love for real.

Too bad both of them are keeping some mighty big secrets…


THOUGHTS

I normally stay away from books about mail order brides as I have zero interest in them. I have also outgrown the vampire phase (yes, I went through a phase a long time ago), so I passed this book up several times. But then I saw a review of this book somewhere on my WordPress feed, and I decided to give it a chance. I don’t remember whose blog it was, but whoever you are, thank you for making me think twice about this book.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I really enjoyed this book despite my aversion to books on vampires and mail order brides.

I absolutely adored the characters right down to the cat. They all had their own charms, but Stanhill was my favorite even if he was just a supporting character. I loved how supportive he was to both Delaney and Hugh, and the way he was spoiling Captain Underpants (the cat) was just adorable. I do hope he gets his own story.

I loved how the author didn’t rely on stereotypes when she created her characters. Hugh, despite being a vampire, wasn’t the domineering kind. He didn’t order anyone around or treat Delaney like a fragile doll. Delaney, on the other hand, wasn’t your typical foolish lovesick girl pining for the super sexy vampire.

I’ve decided that I like this author, and I’ll be looking out for her other works. I’m also interested in pursuing this series even if each book will be starring different characters.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

The only thing I hated was the “I’m too dangerous for you” drama. It was predictable and annoying. Fortunately, it didn’t last long.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride is a fun read for fans of paranormal romance. If you don’t mind a little cliché, you’ll enjoy this book.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

