Death Comes to Town (Darcy Sweet, 1) by K.J. Emrick

Image source: Goodreads

Darcy Sweet would like to think that she is just an ordinary woman, happy in her life running the Sweet Read bookstore. But she isn’t ordinary. She has a connection to the other side that seems to draw her into mysterious situations more often than not. Add to the mix the antics of a rather naughty, slightly psychic cat and the eccentric ghost of her great-aunt Millie, and you have a recipe for anything but the ordinary.

When Darcy’s neighbor is murdered she is drawn into the mystery against her will when she finds the body. She tries to leave the investigation to the police, one of which is her sister, but an overheard conversation and a small nudge from the other side has her investigating the murder. The stakes are raised when the murderer strikes again. Who was killing the people in her life?

Things are complicated even more by her building attraction to her sister’s new cop partner, who makes it clear he does not appreciate Darcy’s interference in the investigation. Sparks fly between the two of them as they get further into the mystery surrounding the deaths.

With a town full of suspects how will Darcy work out who the murderer is? None of the pieces to the puzzle fit. Things become more complicated and dangerous as Darcy’s own life is threatened. Will she survive to see justice served?


THOUGHTS

To be honest, reading this book was kind of a weird experience for me. Seeing my name, albeit spelled differently, appear repeatedly in a book felt like I was reading about myself (It’s different for Mr. Darcy because he’s male and it’s actually his surname). I guess it’s because I’m used to being the only Darcey in my rather small world. This had absolutely no bearing on my opinion of the book though.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

The thing I love about cozy mysteries is that they’re short, simple, and entertaining. This book lived up to that expectation.

I liked the characters even though I found Darcy a bit too nosy; they mostly played their roles well. I also thought the romance between Darcy and Jon was cute. Unbelievable, but cute.

I also loved the supernatural aspects involved in the book. It made this simple story fun. Overall, I found this book pleasant.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I didn’t appreciate the redundant descriptions in the narrative. Right from the first chapter, there was already a whole paragraph dedicated to telling the readers—in every sentence—that the bookstore was filled with books in every corner. This was the most obvious case of redundancy. There were more throughout the book, but they were less noticeable.

There was also a severe case of missing commas. The sentences just went on and on, and I had to mentally add a comma where one was appropriate. It ruined the continuity of my reading. The book could really use a good editor.

I also hated the fact that there were plenty of loopholes in the story. Most suspects became such because of stupid reasons. I couldn’t understand the logic behind some of the accusations that Darcy made, and that was annoying. That said, the plot was at least interesting enough for me to continue reading.

Also, for some reason, I kept expecting the cat to talk. He seemed too intelligent to just be a normal cat, but I guess some things just don’t go the way we expect.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Death Comes to Town is a light mystery with a dash of paranormal and romance. I recommend it to readers who don’t mind the main character making accusations based on an illogical hunch.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

If you’re interested in this series, the first six books are currently free on Kindle and can be found here.

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

