Dracula by Bram Stoker

Image source: Feedbooks

Dracula is an 1897 novel by Irish author Bram Stoker, featuring as its primary antagonist the vampire Count Dracula. 

Dracula has been attributed to many literary genres including vampire literature, horror fiction, the gothic novel and invasion literature. Structurally it is an epistolary novel, that is, told as a series of diary entries and letters. Literary critics have examined many themes in the novel, such as the role of women in Victorian culture, conventional and conservative sexuality, immigration, colonialism, postcolonialism and folklore. Although Stoker did not invent the vampire, the novel’s influence on the popularity of vampires has been singularly responsible for many theatrical and film interpretations throughout the 20th and 21st centuries.


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

Originally, I thought this would be an account of Count Dracula’s story because the book is, after all, called Dracula. Obviously, I was wrong. This was more of a “Defeating Count Dracula” story. Although the book didn’t turn out as I expected, it didn’t disappoint.

Dracula was a well crafted tale, and I’m not only saying so because it’s a classic. I loved how each event in the book connected flawlessly so that everything fell into place by the end.

This book was interesting and enjoyable. With classics, I usually find no motivation to pick up a book after I’ve set it down, but this one managed to enthrall me. I actually felt strangely touched by the end and saddened that it was over.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I found the language hard to understand at times, especially when some of the minor characters were speaking. Their words were slurred to the point where I had to struggle to keep up with what they were trying to say.

The characters were flat, and there was no significant distinction between their speech patterns and personalities, except maybe for Van Helsing. But for a man who was supposedly smart, he sounded crazed half the time.

I disliked the resolution because it happened too quickly. After all the buildup, it felt abrupt and somewhat lacking. That was honestly disappointing, especially the fate of Quincey Morris.

I also found the book sexist, though understandably so because of its age. There were several instances when Van Helsing referred to Mina as having “a man’s brain” because he thought her intelligent.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Dracula is an enjoyable read, though the language is a bit difficult to understand at times. I recommend it to lovers of horror and mystery.

LINKS

Amazon | Feedbooks | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

