The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike, 1) by Robert Galbraith

Image source: Goodreads

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I really enjoyed this book. Even though the plot development was slow, it wasn’t boring because it made the suspense build up. I loved that it was purely investigative, so most of the case solving was done in the form of interrogations rather than Sherlock-like deductions.

Because of the investigative nature of this book, the reader knows everything Strike knows. This actually made me feel like I was in on the case, which made reading more exciting for me. I love a well-written mystery.

I also loved the major characters. Cormoran Strike was smart, a little insecure, and a little snarky; he was the perfect protagonist for a crime fiction novel. I loved his working relationship with Robin, his temporary secretary. She was interesting because she always managed to bring out a better side of Strike. The two seemed to complement each other well despite being completely different, and I smell a possible romance in the future.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I liked this book, but I have to admit that there were too many characters in the story. At first, I struggled to remember who some of them were, but reading a little further always helped. I also didn’t like how everyone seemed to love smoking and cursing; it felt unnatural.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

The Cuckoo’s Calling is an exciting read. I recommend it to anyone who loves crime fiction and doesn’t mind a lot of dialogue.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

2 thoughts on “The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike, 1) by Robert Galbraith

  1. Krysta says:

    I’ve had this on my shelf for a year but haven’t read it since it’s not a genre I normally read. But it seems like the characters at least are enjoyable so maybe I should read it sometime soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

