Cozy Mystery

Mrs. Fix It Mysteries (The Complete Series) by Belle Knudson

Image source: Goodreads

Kate Flaherty has a knack for fixing things… and getting caught in the middle of murder investigations. 

Books in this collection:

1: HAMMERED
The day Scott York returned to his hometown to become the new sheriff, his old high school girlfriend knew her life would be changed. Kate Flaherty is Rock Ridge’s handywoman. A mom struggling to put her twin boys through college, Kate takes every job she is offered…even the one that comes from Scott. 

2: SCREWED DOWN MURDER
Against the warning of police Chief Scott York to stay uninvolved, Kate cannot help but search for the murderer at the request of a suspect she believes is innocent.

3: A VENEER OF MURDER
Another life has been unjustly taken. Her hometown has been threatened by anarchists. Kate’s husband is still missing. Mrs. Fixit is back and more determined than ever to solve Rock Ridge’s many mysteries.

4: DRILLED IN MURDER
5: CHISELED
6: NAILED DOWN MURDER
7: PAINT IT DEAD
8: CLAMPED ON MURDER
9: TOOL KIT CLUES
10: WRENCHED IN MURDER
11: KILLER FOUNDATION
12: DEAD AS A DOORNAIL
13: BODY ON THE BALCONY
14: ROOFTOP KILLER
15: MURDER AT THE MANSION


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I’m torn about this series because I loved the second half but hated the first. Compared to the first half, the latter books were much more enjoyable. They were action packed, and they deviated from the formula the previous books followed.

I loved the characters much more than I did the plot. This was why I stuck through with this series despite the repetitive pattern present in each book. After finishing all 15 books, I got attached to the characters. I loved Scott so much. He was everything I could ever ask for in a man. I loved how he took care of Kate even when she was being annoying.

I felt really sad when I hit the last page. I had to take a few short moments to digest the fact that I was actually done with this series. Somehow, the thought of not reading about Scott, Kate, and their adventures bothered me. So, even if the plot and the writing weren’t the best, my overall feelings for this series remain positive.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

The first half of this series was poorly written. All the books followed the same pattern: Kate would discover a body and call the police, and she would be told not to meddle; she would meddle anyway after someone gets falsely accused; then, after snooping around for a while, a confession would magically drop on her lap. Fortunately, the author learned to stop doing this in the subsequent books and even managed to use cliffhangers and action scenes properly.

Kate was honestly annoying sometimes. I hated how she was always keeping secrets from Scott. He was with the police, for heaven’s sake. That was a stupid thing to do. I also hated how justified she felt whenever she was snooping around shamelessly, like she was doing such a good job of showing up the police. In reality though, all the cases were solved because of “sheer dumb luck” since she just stumbled on confessions. Thankfully, she eventually learned to tone down her nosiness and became more reasonable throughout the series, and I ended up loving her as well.

I really hated how seemingly innocent characters in one book would suddenly end up as murderers in the next. The change in personalities was baffling.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Mrs. Fix It Mysteries is a heartwarming read overall, though I wouldn’t recommend it because the first half really was horrible. If you have the patience to read through that, go ahead and start this series. You might fall in love with the characters just as I have.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

