This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

Image source: Goodreads

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds. 

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I really liked the premise for this book, and I’m so glad it actually lived up to my expectations. This book captured my heart right from the first chapter.

After the first few emails, I was already dying for Graham and Ellie to meet. When they finally did, I thought that maybe the book would get less interesting because the initial excitement was over, but it didn’t. Their interactions were actually really sweet, and I loved how neither of them were whiny despite having their own issues to deal with.

I thought the characters were portrayed realistically. One particular character managed to gain my respect, and that was Ellie’s mother. I loved that she wasn’t overbearing; she genuinely wanted to shield Ellie from the dangers of the world, and she made sure the girl understood that. She also knew how to see things from her daughter’s perspective. I think it was her being supportive that made Ellie trust her.

I loved this author’s writing style; she made me feel happy and sad at the same time without having to go over the top. She also managed to tie things up nicely—and in a believable manner—by the end of the book. I enjoyed this much more than The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

Although I couldn’t find any fault in the book itself, I still had this feeling that it could have been better. I admit that it was a bit shallow, but it’s not surprising since it’s a romantic comedy for young adults.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

This is What Happy Looks Like is a fun read for anyone who enjoys a good balance of fluff and drama.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

