Adult Romance

Booty Call (Forbidden Bodyguards, 2) by Ainsley Booth

Image source: Goodreads

I know what I’m doing when I text Scott at four in the morning. 

He knows what I’m doing, too. 

That’s why he shows up twenty-three minutes later, freshly showered with a condom in his pocket and a barely dissolved breath mint on his tongue. 

I smirk as he looms over me. “You are such a dirty old man.” 

“We need to stop doing this.” 

“Why?” 

“Because you’re twenty-one and I’m not. Because I want to take you on a f***ing date and you won’t. Because we wind up yelling at each other half the time.” 

“But the rest of the time you’re inside me and it feels so good, right?” 

His eyes darken and I don’t need to look down to know he’s hard for me.


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I usually don’t care for the characters in an erotica novel, but I liked Alison and Scott. They were interesting on their own, and their relationship was sweet despite the age difference. I enjoyed reading about their encounters even if most of them were sex scenes, at least until the conflict happened.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

Despite liking Alison and Scott, I found a lot of things wrong with this book. This was supposed to be a standalone book, but there seemed to be a bigger, albeit minor, background plot revolving Alison’s and Scott’s shady families. Since I didn’t read the first book in this series, things got a bit confusing.

The plot felt weak. The conflict, especially what triggered it, didn’t make much sense to me. The ending also felt abrupt.

This book had potential, but the author failed to explore it. It would have made a better story if the conflict was better developed and the background story was removed so that the focus was solely on Alison and Scott’s relationship.

VERDICT

🌷🌷

Booty Call is a steamy romance with a weak plot. I don’t recommend it unless you’re only looking for lots of explicit sex.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

