Young Adult

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Image source: Goodreads

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I couldn’t find anything to like about this book; it was one big disappointment. When I picked up this book, I had expected something beautiful and touching. Instead, I was rewarded with hours of boredom. The premise was good, but the execution was average at best.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

While I didn’t put this book down until I finished it, I spent every moment asking myself how much longer I still had to read until the ending. It wasn’t engaging at all.

I thought the story was severely lacking. The plot built up, dragged on, and spiraled down, much like my interest in the book. It lacked the ability to make me care about the characters. The only reason I kept on reading was because I was at least curious about what choice Mia would make in the end, but probably not enough for me to pursue this series.

The author’s writing was decent, but there were some awkward descriptions. For example, there was a scene where Mia and Adam were playing each other like instruments, since they were both musicians. I know that the author had intended this to sound romantic, but it felt so awkward and wrong.

VERDICT

🌷🌷

If I Stay is a painfully boring read. If you’re looking for something inspirational, beautiful, touching, or meaningful, this isn’t it.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

3 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

