Chick Lit

Dream of You (Laurel Heights, 5) by Kate Perry

Image source: Goodreads

Love sucks.

Lola Carmichael’s known it since her boyfriend broke up with her the night she expected him to propose. Only with a deadline looming for her next romance novel, she better find inspiration fast.

Enter arrogant sports radio DJ Sam Touchdown Taylor. Who’d have thought a playboy ex-jock would be just what she needs to get her creative juices flowing…and her heart beating again.

When Lola discovers Sam is using her to win back his dream job, she knows she should give up on Happily Ever After, but part of her hopes heroes do exist…and dreams do come true.


THOUGHTS

The books in the Laurel Heights series can be read separately.

This is the first book I’ve read in the Laurel Heights series, and I’m happy to say that it won’t be the last.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I actually enjoyed this book. It was light and fluffy but also unexpectedly touching.

I loved Lola and Sam. They had depth—something I rarely see in characters in this genre. And even if they experienced an almost instant attraction, they didn’t exactly proclaim their undying love for each other; it was more of a physical reaction than anything, which made it believable. Their interactions were sweet and often passionate though a bit cheesy at times.

I loved how the characters in this book were written. It was refreshing to see that Lola didn’t think a man had to do all the work in a relationship. The author made a good point of emphasising that both parties had to meet halfway to make things work.

I also have a soft spot for men who are good with children, and Sam fit this description perfectly. I loved seeing him with Madison, who was an adorable though meddlesome kid. Sam was good with her.

The story of the other couple, Kristin and Robert, was also one I enjoyed. Those two had an odd but cute relationship.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I thought the novel was regrettably short, especially since it was about two couples. Because of this, Kristin and Robert’s story felt underdeveloped. I would have liked to see it as a separate story instead.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

Dream of You is a light and enjoyable read for those who like cheesy romance.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

One thought on “Dream of You (Laurel Heights, 5) by Kate Perry

Leave a Reply

