Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Image source: Goodreads

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?


THOUGHTS

I had no idea what to expect from this book when I first got it. I spotted it at a bookstore, adored the cover, and bought it on a whim. I still consider it the best unplanned purchase I’ve ever made.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I absolutely loved everything about Fangirl—the story, the characters, and most importantly, the dialogue.

There wasn’t anything particularly special about this book, but it was the kind of book that left you feeling something after finishing it. Fangirl wasn’t action packed or plot-heavy, but the writing drew me in. I couldn’t put the book down until I finished every last page, and even then, I wanted more. Rowell’s writing style tended to have that effect.

I found a kinship with Cath; in some ways, we were very similar, though she was probably the more extreme version of me. Her thoughts on writing fan fiction vs. an original story were spot on. But even those who have never ventured into the world of fan fiction should find this book relatable because a large part of it was about dealing with adjustments, and everyone goes through that.

I loved how the characters were written. They had their fair share of flaws, which made them feel more real. I also appreciated their interactions, especially Cath and Levi’s. Their relationship felt mature for their age.

I also loved seeing Cath’s development from a reclusive and lonely girl to a happier, more self assured one. She even managed to write beyond fan fiction. In the end, she finally found her place, and I loved that Rowell didn’t have Cath leave behind her love for the Simon Snow world to get her to that place.

I rarely give out a full five-point rating, but this book deserves it. It’s currently one of my favorites.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

Nothing! Like I said, I loved everything about this book.

I know some people would find this book boring because of its simplistic writing, so it’s definitely not for everyone; it’s a love it or hate it kind of book.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷

Fangirl is an excellent read for those who enjoy simple and relatable stories. If you’re the type to get easily bored by lack of action or drama, this book isn’t for you. It’s also quite lengthy, but I promise it’s worth it.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

2 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Shouni says:

    Fangirl is my favorite Rainbow Rowell book. I agree! Her writing style was perfect for this story. I love fanfiction and I loved how it was shown in the book. Though I have to admit, all those Simon and Baz chapters started boring me after a while. Cath and Levi are super cute! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Darcey Joice says:

      I love fanfiction too, and I loved how it was a large part of this book. I don’t think many books really talk about fanfiction. Or I just haven’t encountered any yet. Anyway, thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

