Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Image source: Goodreads

Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur. Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger… Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her…


THOUGHTS

This was my first time reading a Sophie Kinsella book, and it was pretty much what I expected from a popular chick lit writer.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I thought the premise for this book was good. I loved the idea of the main character spilling her guts to a complete stranger on a plane and having said stranger turn out to be her boss. It’s not unique, but it’s still a fun plot.

The story itself was engaging. I was more than affected by every little thing that was happening. It’s always a good thing when I feel emotionally invested in a book.

As for the characters, I didn’t find them all endearing. Quite the opposite for some, in fact, but I did love Jack. He was rich but didn’t have an ounce of arrogance in his system. In fact, he hated how everyone was sucking up to him.

I also loved how the author showed Jack’s affection for Emma. Having him act on the things Emma confessed on the plane, like changing the company’s coffee machine because she complained about it, was a nice touch.

While the book was far from perfect, I liked it as a whole.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I hated Emma, which sucks because she’s the main character; this made my reading experience suffer a bit. I had never wanted to strangle a character so much in my life, but Emma is possibly one of the worst main characters ever written. She was whiny, dishonest, and pretentious. I also didn’t get her fascination with crossing her fingers when lying; it was childish for a girl of twenty five.

It wasn’t just her personality that I had issues with. I found it odd that her knowledge on anything marketing-related seemed severely lacking when she was working in the freaking marketing department.

I also hated her roommate, Jemima. She was meddlesome and didn’t understand the first thing about relationships, and a part of me—a very small part—went out to her. Unfortunately, the greater part of me still hates her. The author didn’t write her character realistically; no one is as stupid or obnoxious as Jemima.

Lastly, I thought the book could have done with a little less drama; all the misunderstandings that happened were unnecessary. It felt like the author was trying too hard to create conflict, and she failed to make it believable.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

Can You Keep a Secret? is your typical chick lit novel. It’s sweet, fun, and completely unrealistic.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

