Chick Lit · Clean Romance

You Had Me at Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

Image source: Goodreads

What happens when the one that got away comes back?

Rachel and Ben. Ben and Rachel. It was them against the world. Until it all fell apart.

It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but when Rachel bumps into Ben one rainy day, the years melt away.

From the moment they met they’d been a gang of two; partners in crime and the best of friends. But life has moved on. Ben is married. Rachel is definitely not. In fact, the men in her life make her want to take holy orders…

Yet in that split second, Rachel feels the old friendship return. And along with it, the broken heart she’s never been able to mend.


THOUGHTS

I stumbled upon this book by accident while I was looking for something light to read. The title caught my attention, so I decided to give it a shot. Boy, was I wrong about it being light. I have no regrets though.

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I absolutely loved this book. The emotions it made me experience were so real. It made me smile, and it most definitely made me tear up few times; I could feel the characters’ emotions so strongly. Reading it felt like a roller coaster, especially since there was a lot of push and pull going on between Ben and Rachel, though not in the exasperating way like in some YA novels.

Ben and Rachel had the most infuriating situation I’ve ever had the misfortune of encountering. There were so many misunderstandings in their past and so many complications in their present. But this frustration was what made me want to read more.

I couldn’t bring myself to stop reading once I started because every moment felt important, and I simply couldn’t bear the thought of leaving the characters in a state of turmoil.

This book was delightful, frustrating, and most importantly, satisfying. I felt a regretful sadness upon finishing it. It was definitely worth the time I spent poring over it.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

What I loved about this book was also what I hated about it. So. Much. Feels.

There were moments when reading this book was difficult because I was struggling with the characters emotionally. Ben and Rachel were so frustrating; their situation was so frustrating. Yet somehow, it was still satisfying to read.

I also didn’t like Rachel very much, but I felt that a lot of the things she did were influenced by her strong emotions. Looking back, I can’t help but feel like she somehow managed to unknowingly sabotage Ben’s relationship with his wife through their chance meeting.

Ultimately, the things I didn’t like about this book were what made it better, so I suppose I shouldn’t complain.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

You Had Me at Hello is a delightfully frustrating read. Those who wish to experience a roller coaster of emotions will be deeply satisfied by this book.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

