Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Image source: Goodreads

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I liked how the book managed to stir a lot of emotions in me. I love books that make me care about the fate of the characters, and while it was a bit of a roller coaster with this one, it managed to win my heart. There were a lot of touching moments, especially the little things that happened throughout the story.

I thought the love story between the two main characters was well developed. Though there was attraction between them from the start, it didn’t just magically happen; you could actually see the development through the chapters. There were a lot of ups and downs in their relationship because it was so complicated, but the ending was perfect and I fell in love with it.

I also liked how Étienne actually had flaws, like his fear of heights and the fact that he was short. He wasn’t like the typical lead male character, and that was one of the things that set this book apart from others.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

The book was a little slow at first. It took around ten chapters before there was any actual development between the two main characters, but it got interesting from there. The first few chapters mainly dealt with Anna’s struggles with being in a new environment.

I also didn’t like Anna. She had a tendency to whine. She seriously had a poor sense of judgement, especially when it came to guys; her relationships were a mess. Even though I wanted her to end up with Étienne, I couldn’t help but feel like she just threw herself at him despite knowing that he was involved with someone else.

Another thing I didn’t like was Anna’s illogical hatred for her father. I honestly didn’t think he was that bad. They were unhappy together, but he genuinely cared for his family. I just didn’t see why she seemed to hate him to the extent described in the book.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷🌷

Anna and the French Kiss is a fun and satisfying read. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys stories that evoke a lot of emotions, including sweet, fluffy ones.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

Leave a Reply

