The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

Image source: Goodreads

Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. Oliver is British, sits in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?


THOUGHTS

~ What I Liked About the Book ~

I loved the title of this book. It was captivating and was why I picked it up in the first place. It was also appropriate for the story, which is what titles are supposed to be. I’ve read some books that have pretty titles only to find out how they have nothing much to do with the story line. I hate it when book titles are used only as tools to hook readers.

I also liked how the story was engaging from the start. The first few moments between Hadley and Oliver had me hooked, especially the kiss scene before they parted at the airport. The scenes where they were together were sweet and fun to read.

While I liked the fluffy scenes between the two main characters, I enjoyed the other side of the story more. In the novel, Hadley had some issues with her father, and I liked how their relationship developed. She had a lot of conflicting emotions at first, but she slowly came to terms with the reality that her father was getting married to another woman. I liked how the author showed Hadley’s struggles and her gradual change of heart.

~ What I Didn’t Like About the Book ~

I didn’t like how a couple of scenes in the book felt unrealistic. Without going into too much detail, I can say that it involves feelings and fate’s hand. It’s not that I don’t believe in fate, but the way it was presented seemed fake to me.

I also thought the book lacked conflict. Most of the conflict happened between Hadley and her father, not between Hadley and Oliver, who were supposed to be the main characters. Oliver wasn’t given much background. By the end of the book, I felt like I barely knew him. I don’t think that his last name was even mentioned.

VERDICT

🌷🌷🌷

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is good for an afternoon read. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a light story and the average cheesy line.

LINKS

Amazon | Goodreads

For a complete list of my book reviews, click here.

4 thoughts on “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Penthesilea says:

    I loved this book because I felt the pain of Hadley when she decided to attend her father’s wedding. I can’t imagine how would I feel, maybe I’ll sabotage the ceremony. Yes, I’m that evil 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

